Popcorn Hands

Sigh, I don’t have a photo of this right now and couldn’t find any copyright free ones to include but I will be making some of these this week and when I do I will update with a picture!  ***UPDATE*** I found a site where they had this idea as well and have linked it here in case you want to check out their photo until I get mine up!

http://littlenummies.net/?p=1354

I made these pretty much every year from the time my daughter was about 4 on as the trick-or-treating handouts, favours for my daughter’s class, and goodies for my own class when I was teaching.  They were always a big hit and the nice thing is that you can make them a decadent treat or a healthy one depending on what kind of popcorn you put into them.  Some years I have done plain old basic popcorn, others I have experimented with popcorn seasonings on them, and a few times I made caramel popcorn.  You can speed up the production of these with store-bought popcorn too!

It’s important to begin with the right kind of gloves.  Please please please whatever you do DO NOT buy surgical/medical gloves.  Some of these come coated with talc on the inside (yuck!) but even the plain ones can give off a weird rubbery type taste to the popcorn.  The best ones, and coincidentally the least expensive ones (I buy them in bags of 20 at the local dollar store) are the ones they sell for covering your hands when doing things like painting and refinishing furniture.  These gloves are clear plastic…basically seem to me to be made of the same stuff as sandwich baggies but they are just shaped like hands!  The other supplies you will need are candy corn for the fingernails, some kind of twist ties or ribbon to close the bags, and some of those cute little Halloween rings shaped like spiders or skulls etc. 

Drop one piece of candy corn into each of the finger and thumb openings in each of the gloves.  These form the fingernails for the hands.  Fill the fingers, thumb, and remaining part of the hand with popcorn leaving enough space at the top to be able to tie the baggies shut.  Putting one of the rings on a finger on each hand adds an adorable little touch and gives the kids a little something extra that they can keep long after the popcorn is gone.  Plus, they are also very very inexpensive to buy…I have often found bags of 100 rings for under $3.

Seasoning Mixes for Popcorn:

Apple Pie Spice:  1 T. ground cinnamon, 2 tsp. nutmeg, 1 tsp. allspice, 1 tsp. ginger

BBQ Spice:  1 tsp. paprika, 2 tsp. chili powder, 1 tsp. garlic, 1 tsp. onion powder, 1/2 tsp. hickory smoke salt, 1 tsp. cumin, 1/2 T. brown sugar, 1/2 tsp. dry mustard

Cinnamon Sugar:  1/2 cup sugar, 1 1/2 T. cinnamon

Pumpkin Pie Spice:  1/4 cup cinnamon, 1 T. allspice, 1 1/2 tsp. each ginger and nutmeg, 1 tsp. cloves

Vanilla Spice:  1/2 cup sugar, 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract, 1/2 tsp. almond extract (because you are using liquids here, you will need to mix this one up and then spread it out on a cookie sheet to dry before putting onto the popcorn).

Caramel Popcorn:

Ingredients:

8 c. popped unbuttered popcorn

1/2 cup peanuts and/or raisins if desired

1/3 cup butter

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup corn syrup

Directions:  Mix together the popcorn and nuts/raisins if using in a heatproof container of some sort.  Put the remaining ingredients into a saucepan and add a pinch of salt.  Bring this mixture to a boil over high heat, boiling for 2 minutes, stirring constantly.  Remove from the heat and pour this mixture over the popcorn and stir thoroughly until popcorn is thoroughly coated.  Spray a cookie sheet or large roasting pan with cooking spray and spread the popcorn in it.  Bake for 15 minutes at 300 degrees F.  Remove from the oven and stir this mixture again until well coated and cooled. 

Note: As I was discussing this idea with a friend of mine, we started brainstorming alternatives to the popcorn.  You could certainly use various types of cereals, a nuts and bolts type snack mix, and so on.  I was thinking that if I had seen this idea when my daughter was even younger, I would have made them for her to take to daycare filled with Cheerios!

One Response to “Popcorn Hands”

  1. I will be coming back to this post when we get our first cold night and I’m in the popcorn making mood. Yummo.

Leave a Reply

